28.1 C
Sunday, June 11, 2023

NDA: Blatant affront to democratic ethos | India News – Times of India

Must read

NEW DELHI: The BJP-led NDA hit back at the opposition for its decision to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building by PM Modi and was boosted by support from BJD and YRSCP as well as its former ally, the Akalis.
“We, the parties of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), unequivocally condemn the contemptuous decision of 19 political parties to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building scheduled for Sunday, 28th May. This act is not merely disrespectful; it is a blatant affront to the democratic ethos and constitutional values of our great nation,” the 14 NDA parties said in a statement issued after opposition formally declared its boycott plan.
The signatories to the statement emphasised said the Parliament is a hallowed institution, the beating heart of our democracy, and the epicentre of decision-making that shapes and influences the lives of our citizens. “Such flagrant disrespect towards this institution betrays not only intellectual bankruptcy but a disturbing contempt for the very essence of democracy,” they said.
The ruling coalition got a shot in the arm from Andhra CM Jagan Reddy’s YSRCP, Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik’s BJD and, interestingly, the Akalis who had broken away from the grouping over the protests against the now-scrapped farm laws.
They said the boycott was not the first instance of the opposition “insulting” Parliament for partisan reasons. “Over the past nine years, these opposition parties have repeatedly shown scant regard for parliamentary procedures, disrupted sessions, staged walkouts during crucial legislations, and demonstrated an alarming lackadaisical attitude towards their Parliamentary duties. This recent boycott is just another feather in their cap of disregard for democratic processes,” the NDA partners said.
They said the audacity of these opposition parties to preach about parliamentary decency and constitutional values is, in the light of their actions, nothing short of laughable. “Their hypocrisy knows no bounds – they boycotted the special GST session presided over by the then President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee; skipped the ceremony when he was awarded the Bharat Ratna, and even extended a late courtesy call to Shri Ramnath Kovind Ji upon his election as President,” they said.
The signatories to the NDA statement include, besides BJP chief JP Nadda, Mahrarashtra CM Eknath Shinde ( Shiv Sena), Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma (National People’s Party), Sikkim CM Prem Singh Tamang (Sikkim Krantikari Morcha), Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio (Nationalist Progressive Democratic Party), CM of Mizoram Zoramthanga (Mizo National Front), deputy CM of Haryana Dushyant Chautala (Jananayak Janata Party), Union minister of state Anupriya Patel (Apna Dal), Union minister of state Ramdas Athawale (Republican Party of India), Union minister Pashupati Kumar Paras ( LJP) , E Palaniswami, leader of opposition Tamil Nadu (AIADMK), G K Vasan (Tamil Manila Congress) and Devanathan (IMKMK), president of All Jharkhand Students’ Uniion ( AJSU) Sudesh Mahto.
They said that they couldn’t forget that this disdain for parliamentary democracy is rooted in history. “The same parties imposed the Emergency, a horrifying period in India’s history, suspending civil liberties and democratic processes. Their habitual misuse of Article 356 further exposes their blatant disregard for constitutional principles,” the 14 parties said.
The parties further added, “Further, the disrespect shown towards our current President, Smt. Droupadi Murmu, is a new low in political discourse. The staunch opposition to her candidature is not just an insult to her but a direct affront to the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes of our nation,” the NDA allied said.

Source link

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article