31 C
Sunday, May 28, 2023

Deodhar Trophy likely to return this season | Cricket News – Times of India

Must read

MUMBAI: The Deodhar Trophy, one of the oldest one-day domestic tournaments in the country, will return to the calendar in the year of the ODI World Cup after a hiatus of three seasons due to Covid, as per the BCCI’s tentative domestic schedule for the 2023-24 season accessed by TOI.
As per the schedule, the next domestic season will tee off with the Duleep Trophy from June 28 to July 16. The Deodhar Trophy, set to return in the zonal format — with six zones vying for it — will be played from July 24 to August 3.
The last edition of the Deodhar Trophy was played in Ranchi, between India A, B & C, in Oct-Nov 2019.
The Irani Cup tie between Ranji Trophy champions Saurashtra and Rest of India will be played at Rajkot from October 1-5. The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be held from October 16-November 6 while the Vijay Hazare Trophy will take place from November 23-December 15.
The Ranji Trophy will be held from January 5-March 14. The Plate Group finalists will be promoted to the Elite Group in the 2024-25 season, while the bottom 2 teams of all the Elite Groups combined based on points/bonus points/win/quotient will be relegated to the Plate Group in the 2024-25 season.
BCCI appoints firm to assess stadiums
With India set to host the ODI World Cup later this year, the BCCI has appointed Grant Thornton, a consultancy firm, for GAP assessment for upgradation of 15 cricket stadiums around the country, which are likely to host the matches of the mega tournament.
As per the minutes of the meeting held on December 21 last year, the Board will take steps to commemorate 50 years of professional women’s cricket in India, as per a suggestion mooted by Apex Council member Shubhangi Kulkarni, who’s also a former India women’s team captain.
Meanwhile, the BCCI has approved a one-time payment of Rs 21 lakh to V Jayadevan for calculating target scores in rain-truncated limited overs matches, as a “goodwill gesture.”
Tentative domestic schedule:
Duleep Trophy (June 28 to July 16), Deodhar Trophy (July 24 to August 3), Irani Cup (October 1-5), Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (October 16-November 6), Vijay Hazare Trophy (November 23-December 15), Ranji Trophy (January 5, 2024-March 14)

Source link

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article